The Asian Academy of
Preventive Dentistry (AAPD)

AAPD provides a formal platform for the local and national institutions and fellow dentists who share a common interest to promote oral health through prevention of oral diseases.

The mission of the AAPD

The vision of the AAPD

AAPD logo

This logo symbolizes the endeavour of the AAPD to foster oral health for all individuals by through collaborative effort among Asian countries. The Sam Taeguk circle is in the centre of the logo. The red colour represents heaven and the blue colour represents earth. The yellow colour is the representative colour of Asia. The Sam Taeguk circle of the AAPD represents perfect balance, harmony, peace and health of Asia in the universe. The ivory colour of the upper circle and its tail represents healthy dentition, and the two pink coloured circles with tail their tails represents healthy periodontal tissues.

15th International Conference of the Asian Academy of Preventive Dentistry in Hong Kong

Meeting high-light video

Watch Video
AAPD Executive Committee Officers
Dr Melissa Adiatman
Jakarta, Indonesia
Prof Rahimah Abdul Kadir
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Vice President
Prof Shuguo Zheng
Beijing, China
Immediate Past President
Prof Chun Hung Chu
Hong Kong, China
Chair, LOC for AAPD 2024
Dr Trong Hung Hoang
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
AAPD President
Dr Osamu Sakai
Fukuoka, Japan
Term: 1994
Dr Kim Jong-bai
Seoul, Korea
Term: 1994-1996
Dr Prathip Phantumvanit
Chiang Rai, Thailand
Term: 1996-1998
Dr Zhang Boxue
Beijing, China
Term: 1998-2000
Dr H. S. Chawla
Chandigar, India
Term: 2000-2002
Dr Armasastra Bahar
Bali, Indonesia
Term: 2002-2004
Dr Tatsuo Watanabe
Okayama, Japan
Term: 2004-2006
Dr Shin Seung-Chul
Cheju, Korea
Term: 2006-2008
Dr Rahimah Abdul Kadir
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Term: 2008-2010
Dr Amarsaikhan Bazar
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Term: 2010-2012
Dr Tao Xu
Beijing, China
Term: 2012-2014
Dr Yoko Kawaguchi
Tokyo, Japan
Term: 2014-2016
Dr Waranuch Pitiphat
Khon Kaen, Thailand
Term: 2016-2018
Dr Chung, Young-Bok
Dauge, Korea
Term: 2018-2021
Prof Chun Hung Chu
Hong Kong, China
Term: 2021-2023
Dr Melissa Adiatman
Jakarta, Indonesia
Term: 2023-2025